Mark S. Shipman named 2022 Best Lawyers® “Lawyer of the Year” in the Hartford area. David M.S. Shaiken recognized for Commercial Litigation.

We are honored to announce Shipman, Shaiken & Schwefel, LLC attorney, Mark S. Shipman, was recently recognized by Best Lawyers as the 2022 “Lawyer of the Year” for Land Use and Zoning Litigation.  We are also pleased to announce that David Shaiken has also been included in the 2022 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America for Commercial Litigation.

Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year,” making this accolade particularly significant. These lawyers are selected based on particularly impressive voting averages received during the peer review assessments.

Receiving this designation reflects the high level of respect a lawyer has earned among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism, and their integrity.

In addition to the “Lawyer of the Year” award, Mark was also listed in the 2022 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America in the following practice areas:

Commercial Litigation

Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law

Land Use and Zoning Law

Litigation – Real Estate

Real Estate Law

Best Lawyers has published their list for over three decades, earning the respect of the profession, the media, and the public as the most reliable, unbiased source of legal referrals. Its first international list was published in 2006 and since then has grown to provide lists in over 75 countries.

“Best Lawyers was founded in 1981 with the purpose of highlighting the extraordinary accomplishments of those in the legal profession. After three decades, we are proud to continue to serve as the most reliable, unbiased source of legal referrals worldwide,” says CEO Phillip Greer.

Lawyers on The Best Lawyers in America list are divided by geographic region and practice areas. They are reviewed by their peers on the basis of professional expertise, and undergo an authentication process to make sure they are in current practice and in good standing.

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence.

Recognition by Woodward/White Inc. Best Lawyers® is based entirely on peer review. More information on the methodology can be found at